A second synagogue was formed in the Quincy Point area around 1910, and the group first met in homes and then held services at an old coal company on Cyril Street.
Congregation Beth Israel was incorporated in May 1918, and construction of its new synagogue began that summer. The cornerstone was laid at 33 Grafton St. on July 4, 1918, and the building was dedicated on Sept. 1. It served European immigrants who worked in the shipyards, and at its peak, during the 1940s and ‘50s, had 200 families and a vibrant Hebrew school. Dwindling membership led to its closure around 2007.
On Nov. 26, 2008, the entire synagogue and its contents were donated to the Maimonides School in Brookline. The school sold the building at 33 Grafton St.; it is now home to All Saints Community Church, an 11-year-old church affiliated with the Anglican Church of Kenya.
Maimonides still safeguards a trove of documents, books, and ritual items from Congregation Beth Israel, and an historical exhibit about the shuttered Quincy synagogue is on display at the school’s campus in Brookline.